Bangladesh win SAFF Women's Football Championship for the first time

Tags: Sports Sports News

Bangladesh registered a historic title win for the first time by defeating Nepal 3-1 in the final of the SAFF(South Asian Football Federation) Women's Football Championship at Rangshala Stadium in Kathmandu on 19 September.


  • In the tournament, Bangladesh captain Sabina Khatun scored the most goals in five matches with eight goals.
  • She was adjudged the best player of the tournament for her outstanding performance. The Bangladesh team was also given the Fair Play Award.

  • Bangladesh goalkeeper Rupana Chakma was named the best goalkeeper. In the tournament, she blocked most of the goals scored against Bangladesh and allowed only one goal.

  • 5-time champion India failed to play in the final of the sixth edition.

  • Nepal knocked out India in the semifinals.

SAFF Women's football Championship :

  • Currently the member countries of SAFF are Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

  • It is held every two years.

  • India has won the first 5 editions so far, beating Nepal four times and Bangladesh once in the final.

  • SAFF was founded in 2010.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz