BJP poised to form government in 4 states and AAP sweeps Punjab polls

Tags: National Popular

Bharatiya Janata Party is set to form governments in Uttar Pradesh,Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa while the Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) swept away Punjab.

The general election to constitute a new legislative Assembly in the states of Manipur, Goa, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Punjab  was held by the Election Commission of India  from 14 February 2022 to March 7 ,2022.

  • Uttar Pradesh voted in 7 phases from February 10 to March 7 to elect 403 vidhan sabha members of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly

  •  The 40-member assembly of Goa went to polls in a single phase on February 14.

  • The 70 member assembly of Uttarakhand went to polls in a single phase on February 14. 

  • The 117 member assembly of  Punjab went to polls in a single phase on February 20. 

  • The 60 member assembly of  Manipur  went to polls in  two phases on 28 February and  5 March 2022.


Total Seats

Majority seats 

Second place 




Aam Aadmi Party  -92 seats 

Congress(I)- 18 seats

 Shiromani Akali Dal-3 seats

Uttar Pradesh


BJP-255 seats

Samajwadi party-111 seats

Congress-2 seats



BJP-47 seats

Congress-19 seats

Others - 2 seats 



BJP-32 seats

National People’s Party -7 seats

Congress-5 seats



BJP-20 seats


AAP-2 seats

In Uttar  Pradesh,the alliance partners of BJP were Apna Dal(Sonelal) and NISHAD Party(Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal") .The alliance partner Apna Dal won 12 seats and the NISHAD party won 6. The total seats won by BJP and its alliances are 273.

Notable winners of the Poll

  • Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath of BJP  won from Gorakhpur Urban seat by defeating Samajwadi Party’s Subhawati Upendra Dutt Shukla. This was the first time he contested an Assembly poll. 

  • Samajwadi party leader Akhilesh Yadav  won the Karhal seat  by defeating the Union Minister of State for Law and Justice Satya Pal Singh Baghel.

  • Manipur Chief Minister N.Biren Singh of BJP defeated Congress's P Sharatchandra from Heingang seat.

  • Goa Chief Minister Pramod  Sawant  won the  Sanquelim assembly constituency seat  as he defeated Congress leader Dharmesh Saglani. 

Notable losers

  • Uttarakhand Chief Minister and BJP leader, Pushkar Singh Dhamilost the election from Khatima to the Congress candidate Bhuwan Chandra Kapri.
  • Punjab Chief Ministerand Congress Party (I) candidate  Charanjit Singh Channi contested from two constituencies and lost both . He was defeated by Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) candidate Labh Singh Ugoke in the Bahadaur assembly seat. He also lost his traditional Chamkaur singh sahib seat to  his name sake ,Chanranjit singh Channi  of Aam Aadmi Party.
  • Former Chief Minister of Punjab ,Captain Amrinder Singh who formed a new party, Punjab Lok Congress lost his Patiala Urban constituency to AAP's Ajit Pal Singh Kohli.
  • Congress Party Punjab chief , Navjot Singh Sidhu lost the Amritsar East seat to AAP candidate Jeevanjyot Kaur
  • Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya  was defeated by Pallavi Patel of Samajwadi Party in Sirathu constituency .

Pushkar Singh Dhami and Charanjit Singh Channi have resigned from their post .

Chief Election Commissioner of India : Sushil Chandra .

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -