Culture Ministry set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres to conserve, develop art, culture & crafts across country

Tags: National News

 seven Zonal Cultural Centers

For the preservation and development of arts, culture and crafts across the country, the Union Ministry of Culture has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centers (ZCCs) at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Prayagraj, Kolkata, Dimapur and Thanjavur.

Important facts

  • These centres aim to conserve and develop art, culture and crafts across the country. 

  • The government provides regular annual grant-in-aid for conducting various activities and programmes to ZCCs. 

  • However, no State and Union Territory wise funds are released by the Ministry for the purpose.

  • This information was given by the Minister of Culture, Tourism and Development of North Eastern Region G. Kishan Reddy while replying to a question in the Lok Sabha.

  • ZCCs organize a minimum 42 Regional Festivals for promotion of art and culture every year as per their programme calendar. 

  • These centers also implement a number of schemes for preservation and promotion of various folk arts and culture of the country. 

Union Minister of Culture - G. Kishan Reddy

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -