Kalyan Chaubey elected as new AIFF President

Tags: Person in news Sports News

Former India goalkeeper from West Bengal Kalyan Choubey became the AIFF President on 2 September 2022 by defeating legendary football player Bhaichung Bhutia in the All India Football Federation (AIFF) elections.


  • In the 85-year history of AIFF, Choubey is the first person to become the president after a player.
  • He has played as a goalkeeper for Mohun Bagan and East Bengal. Bhutia and Choubey were once teammates in East Bengal.

  • NA Haris has been elected as the Vice President. Haris is the president of the Karnataka Football Association and a Congress MLA in the state.

  • Only 34 of India's 36 state football associations took part in the elections, while Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir were not allowed to vote.

AIFF election results :

  • President: Kalyan Choubey (West Bengal)

  • Vice President: NA Haris (Karnataka)

  • Treasurer: Gopalkrishna Kosaraju (Andhra Pradesh)

All India Football Federation (AIFF) :

  • It is the governing body of football in India under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.

  • It was established in 1935.

  • It is responsible for managing the India national football team as well as the women's team and various youth national sports.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -