Mohammad Tayyab Ikram of Macau elected the new President of FIH

Tags: Sports Person in news

Mohammad Tayyab Ikram of Macau was elected as the new President of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) on 5 November 2022. He is also at present the Chief Executive Officer of the Asian Hockey Federation.

The 48th Congress of the FIH, which was held virtually on 4th and 5th of  November, voted on the 5th November to elect a new President of the FIH. The election was necessitated due to the resignation of the earlier president  Narinder Batra on 18  July 2022. 

Mohammad Tayyab Ikram defeated Marc Coudron of Belgium to become the new President of FIH. 

Term of the new President 

The term of the FIH president is 4 years . However the term of the newly elected President Mohammad Tayyab Ikram will be of two years.

The Previous President Narinder Batra  had to resign  in 2022 after the Delhi High Court judgement against him . His term of FIH was to end in 2024 . Hence the new Resident will  be of two years to complete the remaining period of Narinder Batra.


FIH( Fédération Internationale de Hockey) is the governing body of men’s and women’s International hockey.

Headquarters : Lausanne , Switzerland 

 President :Mohammad Tayyab Ikram

Members: 137 countries

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -