NASA announces four-member team of astronauts to travel to the Moon

Tags: Science and Technology International News

NASA announces four-member team of astronauts to travel to the Moon

For the first time in five decades, NASA announced a team of four astronauts for its human spaceflight mission to the Moon.

An overview of the news

  • The team of four astronauts will fly around the moon for a 10-day mission next year.

  • NASA has announced the four astronauts who will go to lunar orbit and return with the Artemis 2 mission.

Who are these Artemis 2 astronauts?

  • These four Artemis 2 astronauts are - Reid Wiseman, Victor Glover, Jeremy Hansen and Christina Koch.

  • NASA’s Reid Wiseman will be the commander of the Artemis 2 mission.

  • Victor Glover will serve as the pilot for Artemis 2. Glover was previously the pilot of NASA's SpaceX Crew-1 mission.

  • Jeremy Hansen will represent the Canadian Space Agency during the mission. 

  • NASA astronaut Christina Koch will be the mission specialist for Artemis 3. 

  • Koch visited the space station in 2019, where she was part of the first all-woman spacewalk in history. 

  • The Artemis II flight team will have three American and one Canadian astronauts, the first since the historic Apollo mission ended in 1972.

Artemis 2 mission

  • The Artemis 1 mission will allow NASA to test the foundation of its latest human space exploration capabilities.

  • This includes the Space Launch System (SLS) rocket, the Orion spacecraft, and all associated ground systems.

  • Artemis 2 will be the first crewed mission to test all of these.

About NASA 

  • NASA was formed under the National Aeronautics and Space Act on July 19, 1948, in place of its predecessor, the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA).

  • NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration

  • Headquarters- Washington D.C.

  • Administrator - Bill Nelson

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -