Testwale Current Affairs PDF

Current Affairs search results for tag: sports-news

1. Max Verstappen is the Formula One World Champion (Dec. 13, 2021)

- Max Verstappen of Red Bull team was crowned the Formula one champion after winning the year end Abu Dhabi Grand Prix to beat the race leader Lewis Hamilton .
- He became the first Dutch(Netherland) driver to win the Formula one or F1 motor car racing championship .

The **F1 World Championship** season consists of a series of motor car races, known as Grands Prix, held usually on purpose-built circuits, and in a few cases on closed city streets.

The World Drivers' Championship is presented by the **Fédération**Internationale de l'Automobile(FIA) to the most successful F1 driver over the course of the season through a points system based on individual Grand Prix results.

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton hold the record for the most World Drivers' Championships, both having won the title on seven occasions.

Juan Manuel Fangio is third with five titles.

Sebastian Vettel was the youngest to win the title.

Present FIA Formula 1 Race Director - Michael Masi

FIA Headquarters - Paris

2022 Formula 1 World Championship starts with Bahrain GP at Sakhir Circuit

2. Yash Dhull named captain of Indian Team in U-19 Asia Cup (Dec. 11, 2021)

Delhi batsman Yash Dhull will lead a 20 member India squad in the upcoming Under19 Asia Cup scheduled to be held in the UAE from December 23.

3. FIDE World Chess Championship 2021 (Dec. 11, 2021)

- Magnus Carlsen of Norway defeated Ian Nepomniachtchi of Russia and won the World Chess championship 2021.
- The World chess championship is being held in Dubai.
- This was the fifth time Carlsen won the World title.
- He won it in 2013 for the first time by defeating Visnwanathan Anand
- He won in 2014 defeating Anand.
- He won in 2016 defeating Sergey Karjakin and Fabio Caruna in 2016.

FIDE (Fédération Internationale des Échecs))

The International Chess Federation or French acronym FIDE Fédération Internationale des Échecs) is an international organization that was set up on 20 July 1924 in Paris, France.

Its headquarters is in Lausanne Switzerland.

It is the international body which governs world chess championships.

In 1946, FIDE (the International Chess Federation) took over administration of the World Championship, organizing their first championship in a 1948 tournament.

Indian champion

Vishwanathan Anand of India is the only Indian player who has won a World Chess title. He has won it five times 2000,2007,2008,2010,2012.

4. Manipur Claims 26th Senior Women's National Football Championship title (Dec. 10, 2021)

Manipur defeated Railways 2-1 on penalties in the final of 26th Senior Women's National Football Championship held at EMS Corporation Stadium, Kozhikode, Kerala. The league consisted of 32 teams for the 2021-22 season.

The women from the North East claimed the title 21 out of 26 times at the National senior football championship

Roshini was named the tournament's best goalkeeper and captain Irom Prameshwori Devi the most valuable player

5. India A wins 2021-22 BCCI Senior Women's Challenger Trophy Title (Dec. 10, 2021)

- India scored a **threewicket win** over IndiaD in the final of the BCCI senior women's Challenger Trophy one day cricket championship.
- It was held at the Mulapadu Cricket Complex in Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh.
- It took place from 4 to 9 December 2021.
- The tournament featured four teams, India A, India B, India C and India D, made up of the best players from across India.
- Matches were played using a 50 over format.

6. COVID-19 ends Indian Women's Hockey Team's Asian Champions Trophy campaign (Dec. 10, 2021)

- The Indian women's hockey team was forced out of the ongoing Asian Hockey Champions Trophy after one of its players tested positive for COVID-19.
- Malaysia was also compelled to withdraw after being hit by the dreaded virus here.

- The tournament is being held at the Donghae City Sunrise Stadium in Donghae, South Korea.
- Six teams participated in the tournament.

Men's Asian Champions Trophy, 2021 is scheduled to be held at Maulana Bhasani Hockey Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh from 14th to 22nd December 2021.

7. Rohit Sharma becomes new white ball-captain (Dec. 9, 2021)

BCCI cricket selection committee has appointed Rohit Sharma as the captain of the ODI side till 2023 World Cup to be held in India and was made the as Vice-Captain of the Test team removing Ajinkya Rahane as the Test team Vice-Captaincy.

Rohit Sharma was earlier appointed as the captain of Twenty -Twenty side .

The test team captain is Virat Kohli.

The Chief Selector is Chetan Sharma.

BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India is the governing body for cricket in India and is under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.

Headquarters: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Founded: **December 1928**

President: **Sourav Ganguly**

Men's Coach: Rahul Dravid

Women's Coach: Ramesh Powar

8. Lewis Hamilton wins Saudi Grand Prix (Dec. 7, 2021)

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes team won the Saudi Arabia Formula 1 racing title at Jeddah. He is from Great Britain.

Saudi Arabia hosted the Formula 1 race for the first time.

9. Russia wins Davis Cup (Dec. 7, 2021)

The Russian Tennis Federation defeated Croatia in the final held at Madrid, Spain.

Davis Cup is a men's team championship .18 teams were competing in the tournament which was held from 25 november to 5 December 2021 at **Innsbruck, Austria, Madrid, Spain and Turin, Italy.**

Davis Cup

- Davis cup is the prestigious men tennis championship organised by International Tennis Federation
- It started in 1900 as a competition between Great Britain and United States and now 135 countries participate in the cup.
- The most successful team is U.S which has won it 32 times
- The second most successful team is Australia which has won it 28 times
- Current Champion Russia has won it 3 times .

Note: In accordance with the ban by the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) and a December 2020 decision by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), the team from Russia was not permitted to use the Russian name, flag, or anthem; it participated in the 2021 Davis Cup Finals as the team of the Russian Tennis Federation (RTF), and used the flag of the RTF.

10. India win the Test Series against New Zealand (Dec. 7, 2021)

India defeated New Zealand in the second test by a record 372 runs to win the series 1-0

This is the biggest ever victory margin of India in a Test match by runs. The Previous record was a 337 runs victory against South Africa at Delhi, in 2015.

The second test match was held at Wankhede stadium, Mumbai.

The First Test match was held at Green Park Stadium, Kanpur which ended in a draw.

Man of the series: Ravichandran Ashwin for his all round performance.

He took 14 wickets in the two tests and scored 70 runs.

- In the First Test Match Indian team captain was Ajinkya Rahane while New Zealand Captain was Kane Williamson.
- In the second test match Indian team was captained by Virat Kohli while the New Zealand team was captained by Tom Latham .