Sahitya Akademi Award 2021

Tags: Awards

  • India's National Academy of Letters popularly known as “Sahitya Akademi” announced its awards for 2021.
  • The awards declared are Sahitya Akademi Main Award, Sahitya Academi Yuva Puraskar, and Bal Sahitya Puraskar.
  • It is a literary honor that is awarded annually since 1954 to writers of the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the 22 languages enumerated in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India as well as English and Rajasthani.
  • The award comprises a plaque and a cash prize of ₹ 1,00,000.
  • The plaque awarded by the Sahitya Akademi was designed by the Indian film-maker Satyajit Ray.
    Highlights from Sahitya Akademi Award 2021 -
  • Namita Gokhale won the award for the English novel “Things to Leave Behind”
  • In 2021 seven books of poetry, five short stories, one each of biography, autobiography, criticism, and epic poetry, and two plays had won the awards
  • Some of the other winners include:
    • Daya Prakash Sinha (Hindi) for his play “Samrat Ashok”
    • Anuradha Sarma Pujari (Assamese) - Iyat Ekhan Aaronya Asil (Novel) , 
    • Bratya Basu (Bengali)- For his play “Mirjafar O Ananya Natak” (Bratya Basu is the Education Minister of West Bengal), 
    • DS Nagabhushana (Kannada) - Gandhi Kathana (Biography), 
    • Wali Mohd Aseer Kashtawari (Kashmiri) - Tawazun (Criticism), 
    • George Onakkoor (Malayalam) - Hrudayaragangal (Autobiography) 
    • Vindeshwariprasad Mishr “Vinay” (Sanskrit) - Srijati Shankhnadam Kil, Kavita (Poetry), 
    • Niranjan Hansda (Santali) - Mane Rena Arhang (Short Stories), 
    • Ambai (Tamil) - Civappuk Kazuttu Tan Oru Paccaip Paravai (Short Ambai Stories)

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -