Union Home Minister Amit Shah presides over 23rd Central Zonal Council Meeting in Bhopal

Tags: National National News

Union Home Minister Amit Shah chaired the meeting of the Central Zonal Council in Bhopal on 22nd August where issues related to connectivity, electricity, sharing of river water and common interest were discussed.


  • The meeting was attended by Chief Ministers, Ministers, Chief Secretaries, Principal Secretaries and senior officials of Member States and Central Government.
  • In this meeting of the Central Zonal Council, the states of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand are included.

  • UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel and Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan were present in the Central Zonal Council meeting.

  • The Central Government holds regular meetings of the Zonal Councils from time to time as part of the overall strategy to strengthen and promote cooperative and competitive federalism in the country.

  • These regional councils enable dialogue and discussion on issues affecting one or more states.

About Zonal Councils :

  • In 1956 first Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru give the idea of creation of Zonal Councils.

  • There are five Zonal Councils in India which were established in 1957 under Section 15-22 of the States Reorganization Act, 1956.

  • A Standing Committee is constituted by each Zonal Council consisting of the Chief Secretaries of their respective Zonal Councils of the Member States.

  • These Standing Committees meet from time to time to resolve the issues.

  • Chairman - The Union Home Minister is the Chairman of each of these Councils

  • Vice-chairman - Chief Minister of the host state

Five Zonal Councils :

  1. The Northern Zonal Council - States of Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, National Capital Territory of Delhi and Union Territory of Chandigarh are included.

  2. The Central Zonal Council -  States of Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh are included.

  3. The Eastern Zonal Council - States of Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, Sikkim and West Bengal are included.

  4. The Western Zonal Council - States of Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra and the Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli are included.

  5. The Southern Zonal Council - States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the Union Territory of Puducherry are included.

Objectives of the Zonal Councils :

  • National integration

  • Enabling Centre and States to collaborate and exchange ideas and experiences

  • Stopping the growth of regionalism, linguism and specific tendencies

  • To establish an environment of cooperation among the states for successful and speedy execution of development projects

Significance of Zonal Councils :

  • Zonal councils provide a forum for discussion on issues affecting one or more states or issues between the Centre and the states.

  • It helps in developing a coordinated approach through deliberation and exchange of views among the states on important issues of social and economic development.

  • They provide a forum for resolving disputes between the Centre and the states.

Kindly also see 11 June and 9 July 2022 post.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -