Current Affairs search results for tag: awards
By admin: Dec. 19, 2021

1. Awards

Tags: Awards

1. Columbia Journalism School’s alumni award

The Columbia Journalism School Alumni Awards are presented every year to distinguished graduates who exemplify the best of the Journalism School's high standards of journalism.

  • Recipients of the award:
    • Malini Parthasarathy, the chairperson of The Hindu Group Publishing.
    • Eric Marcus, the founder and host of ‘Making Gay History’ podcast.
    • Stuart Schear, the vice-­president for communications and marketing at American Jewish World Service.
    • Thomas Maier, an investigative journalist with Newsday and author.

2. Bhutan Confers its highest civilian award on PM Modi

  1. King of Bhutan, Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck has   conferred its highest civilian award “Order of the Druk Gyalpo” on Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 17th December 2021.
  2. This was announced on the occasion of Bhutan’s 114th National Day.
  3. In 2020, PM Modi was awarded with the Legion of Merit Award by the President of the United States along with the Prime Minister of Australia  Scott Morrison  and the former Prime Minister of Japan Shinzo Abe.

By admin: Dec. 12, 2021

2. Awards

Tags: Awards

1. Assam’s highest civilian award for Ratan Tata

On the occasion of Asom Divas or Assam Day, the state Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma announced to confer the most prestigious 'Asom Baibhav' award to the industrialist Ratan Tata.

2. U.S. maths prize for Nikhil Srivastava

Eminent Indian-American mathematician Nikhil Srivastava has been jointly selected for the inaugural $5,000 Ciprian Foias Prize awarded by the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for “highly original work” in Operator Theory.

3. Balkrishna Doshi receives U.K Royal Gold Medal 2022.

Acclaimed Indian architect Balkrishna Doshi has been selected for the Royal Gold Medal 2022, one of the world’s highest honours for architecture.

Nobel Prize 2021

Nobel prize 2021 winners were conferred with the prize on 10 December on the birth anniversary of  Alfred Nobel.

Nobel Prize Winner 2021.


Syukuro Manabe of Japan  and Klaus Hasselmann of Germany and Girogio Parisi of Italy 

 “for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”

Giorgio Parisi of Italy 

 “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales”


Benjamin List   of Germany and David W.C. MacMillan of Scotland 

- “for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis”


David Julius of U.S and Ardem Patapoutian of   U.S 

- “for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch”


Maria Ressa  of Philippines and Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov of Russia 

Maria Ressa in 2012,   co-founded Rappler, a digital media company for investigative journalism.

Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov was the co-founder of the independent newspaper Novaya Gazeta.Novaya Gazeta is the most independent newspaper in Russia today. 


Abdulrazak Gurnah of Britain . He was born in Tanzania, Africa.

His famous works are Paradise, By the Sea,Desertion

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences 

David Card of Canada, Joshua D. Angrist  of the U.S and Guido W. Imbens of Holland   David Card  got this award - “for his empirical contributions to labour economics”

Joshua D. Angrist   of the U.S and Guido W. Imbens of Holland  for 

 - “ their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships”

By admin: Dec. 5, 2021

3. Awards

Tags: Awards

1. Ballon d‘Or football  award 2021:

  • Ballon d‘Or  Men: Lionel Messi of Argentina.
  • Ballon d‘Or Feminin(women): Alexia Putellas of Spain.

2. Yashin Trophy : It is given to the best goalkeeper.

  • Gianluigi Donnarumma of Italy  

3. Kopa Trophy for the best Under-21 player.

  • Pedri of Spain.

4. World Athletics Award 2021

  • Woman of the year award
  • Anju Bobby George for grooming talents in the country and for advocating talents in the country.
  • Other winners 
  • World Athlete of the year: Male 
  • Karsten Warholm of Norway. 
  • World Athlete of the year: Female
  • Elaine Thompson-Herah  of Jamaica