PM Modi Receives Bhutan's 'Order of the Druk Gyalpo' Award

Tags: Popular Awards International News

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has created history by becoming the inaugural non-Bhutanese recipient of Bhutan's prestigious 'Order of the Druk Gyalpo'.

An Overview of the News

  • PM Modi received this prestigious honor from King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck of Bhutan during his two-day official visit to Thimphu.

Importance of Award:

  • The 'Order of the Druk Gyalpo' is Bhutan's premier civilian honor recognizing lifetime achievements.

  • It has the distinction of being the highest civilian honor given in Bhutan.

  • This prestigious award takes precedence over all other orders, decorations and medals of the country.

  • To date, only four distinguished individuals have been honored with this prestigious award.

Previous Award Winners:

  • Her Royal Queen GrandmotherAshi Kesang Choden Wangchuck was awarded this honor in 2008.

  • The 68th Je Khenpo of Bhutan, His Holiness Je Thrizur Tenzin Dendup, also received the award in 2008.

  • His Holiness Je Khenpo Trulku Ngawang Jigme Choedra was awarded the award in 2018.

  • Recipients include Je Khenpo, who holds the position of chief abbot of Bhutan's central monastic body.

About Bhutan

Capital- Thimphu

King - Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuk

Currencies - Bhutanese Ngultrum, Indian Rupee

Official language- Dzongkha

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -