12 scientists selected for the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for 2022

Tags: Awards

The country's top annual science award, the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, was announced after a gap of two years. This year, 12 scientists were selected for the award in seven different scientific categories.

An Overview of the News

  • Director General of CSIR (Council of Scientific and Industrial Research) Dr. N. Kalaiselvi officially announced the awards for the year 2022.

  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award are awarded in seven scientific disciplines, including physics, biology, engineering, mathematics, medicine, chemistry, and earth sciences. They are named after Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, the first director of CSIR.

One Week One Lab Program:

  • Union Minister for Science and Technology Dr Jitendra Singh launched the 'One Week One Lab' program at CSIR-National Institute of Science Communication and Policy Research (NISCPR).

  • The event aims to share unique ideas and technological breakthroughs from various CSIR laboratories with the public and will run till 16 September.

'One Month One Theme' Campaign: 

  • Dr. Jitendra Singh mentioned that in the future, CSIR plans to expand its outreach efforts by running a 'One Month One Theme' campaign to inform the public about the contribution of its units. 

Book Released:

  • Union Minister Dr. Jitendra Singh also released two books titled 'Collection of 80 Articles of Vigyan Pragati Patrika' and 'CSIR@80: A Photo Journey' on the occasion.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -