4th India-CARICOM Ministerial meeting

Tags: International News

4th India-CARICOM Ministerial meeting

External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar co-chaired the 4th India-CARICOM ministerial meeting in Guyana’s capital of Georgetown on 22nd April.

An overview of the news

  • S Jaishankar co-chaired the meeting with his Jamaican counterpart Kaminaj Smith.

  • Both leaders discussed a range of issues, including trade, climate change and counterterrorism.

  • During the bilateral meetings, the minister spoke on various issues including cooperation, trade, climate change, digital transformation, health domain, agriculture and expansion of the International Solar Alliance (ISA).

  • The Minister also met the Bahamas Parliamentary Secretary Jamahl Strachan, an Indian alumnus and discussed the International Solar Alliance (ISA), Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI) as well as UNSC reforms.

  • Jaishankar began his nine-day trip to Guyana, Panama, Colombia and the Dominican Republic on 21st April by meeting his counterpart from Surinam Albert Ramdin. 

What is CARICOM (Caribbean Community and Commons Market)?

  • CARICOM is an intergovernmental organisation that is a political and economic union of 15 member states throughout the Americas and the Atlantic Ocean. 

  • Its main purposes are to promote economic integration and cooperation among its members, to ensure that the benefits of integration are equitably shared, and to coordinate foreign policy.

  • It was established in 1973 by the Treaty of Chaguaramas. 

About Guyana

Prime Minister: Mark Phillips

President: Mohamed Irfaan Ali

Capital: Georgetown

Currency : Guyanese dollar (G$)

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -