Current Affairs search results for: "India wins the Women’s cricket Asia Cup for the seventh time beating Sri Lanka "
By admin: Oct. 15, 2022

1. India wins the Women’s cricket Asia Cup for the seventh time beating Sri Lanka

Tags: place in news Sports

The Indian women’s  cricket team led by Harmanpreet Kaur crushed  Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final of the 8th Women’s Asia Cup 2022 and won it for the 7th time. The final was played at the Sylhet International cricket stadium, Sylhet in Bangladesh on 15 October 2022.

Bangladesh was the host of the 8th women’s Asia Cup cricket 2022, held from 1 October to 15 October 2022.

Bangladesh is the only other country apart from India which has won the Asia cup in 2018.

Seven teams, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Malaysia, Thailand, Bangladesh and United Arab Emirates participated in the 8th women’s Asia Cup which was played in the T 20 format. 

Thailand's team created history when they defeated Pakistan to reach the semi-final of the tournament.  

Brief Score in the final 

Sri Lanka: 69 for 9 wickets in 20 overs 

India: 71 for 2 in 8.3 overs


Women of the player in the final: Renuka Singh of India for taking 3 wickets for 5 runs.

Women of the series: Deepti Sharma for scoring 94 runs and taking 13 wickets in the tournament.

Women Cricket Asia cup 

The first Asia Women’s cup was held in 2004 in Sri Lanka which was won by India.

The 2004, 2005-06, 2006 and 2008 editions were held in 50 over format.

2012, 2016, 2018, 2022 were held in T 20 format.

India has won it 7 times and Bangladesh once in 2018.

Asian Cricket Council (ACC)

It was set up in 1983 at New Delhi as Asian Cricket Conference to promote cricket in Asia. In 1993 the Asian Cricket Conference became the Asian Cricket Council.

The full member countries of ACC are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Malaysia, Nepal, Singapore, Thailand, UAE

Headquarters: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Chairman: Jay Shah