Arunachal Pradesh Statehood Day

Tags: State News Important Days

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has greeted the people of Arunachal Pradesh on the state's 37th statehood day on February 20.

An overview of the news

  • Every year 20 February is celebrated as the foundation day of Arunachal Pradesh.

  • Through the 55th Amendment of the Indian Constitution in 1986, Arunachal Pradesh became the 24th state of the India on February 20, 1987.

Historical Background

  • During British colonial rule, until 1972, the state was known as the North-East Frontier Agency (NEFA).

  • It became a Union Territory on January 20, 1972 and was named Arunachal Pradesh.

  • It was given full statehood by the Arunachal Pradesh State Act, 1986.

  • It was formed in the year 1987 by separating from Assam.

Geographical Situation

  • Arunachal Pradesh is bounded by Bhutan in the west and the Tibetan region of China in the north.

  • It is bounded by Nagaland and Myanmar in the South-Eastern region and Assam in the South-Western region.

  • Capital - Itanagar


  • Literacy rate of the state (as per Census 2011) 65.38% with male literacy rate 72.55% and females 57.70%.

  • Sex Ratio - 938 female per 1000 male (National- 943)

  • State Animal - Mithun (also known as Gayal)

  • State Bird - Hornbill

Protected Areas

  • Talle Wildlife Sanctuary (Protected area) 

  • Dihang Dibang Biosphere Reserve 

  • Namdapha Tiger Reserve 

  • Sessa Orchid Sanctuary 

  • Pakke Wildlife Sanctuary

Important Festivals 

  • Tawang Festival

  • Solung, Losar

  • Torgya

  • Dree

  • Murung

  • Chalo Loku

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -