Bihari Puraskar to Madhu Kankaria and Dr. Madhav Hada

Tags: Awards State News

Bihari Puraskar

Famous litterateurs Madhu Kankaria and Dr. Madhav Hada were awarded the 31st and 32nd Bihari Puraskar for 2021 and 2022 respectively in a program organised in Udaipur on 9 November.

Important facts

  • Prof. Indravardhan Trivedi, Vice Chancellor of Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur, the chief guest of the program presented two and a half lakh rupees, citation and emblem to the litterateurs.

  • The award was presented to Madhu Kankaria for his novel 'Hum Yahan The' and to Dr. Madhav Hada for his critical work 'Pacharang Chola Pahar Sakhi Re'.

  • Kankaria, a recipient of Bihari Puraskar 2021, has written many prose, poems and books. His novel 'Hum Yahan The' is based on the struggle of tribals in Jharkhand.

  • It also provides information about the culture, society and economic conditions of Kolkata.

  • Literary critic and academic Madhav Hada was awarded the Bihari Puraskar 2022 for his extensive work in literature, media, culture and history.

  • He has also been a member of the General Council of Sahitya Akademi and the Hindi Advisory Board.

About Bihari Puraskar

  • Bihari Puraskar is one of the three literary awards instituted by the KK Birla Foundation in 1991.

  • Named after the famous poet Bihari, the award for Rajasthani writers carries a cash prize of Rs 2.5 lakh, a plaque and a citation.

  • It is given every year for an outstanding work published in Hindi or Rajasthani by a Rajasthani writer.

  • The awardees are selected by a selection committee headed by Chairman Hemant Shesh.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -