BJP wins eight out of 16 Rajya Sabha seats while Congress bags five seats

Tags: National News

The BJP won eight of the 16 Rajya Sabha seats in four states, while the Congress won five in a tight contest.

  • Biennial elections to the Upper House of Parliament were held on June 10 for six seats in Maharashtra, four each in Karnataka and Rajasthan and two in Haryana.

  • Winners from BJP include Union Minister Piyush Goyal, former state minister Anil Bonde and party leader Dhananjay Mahadik.

  • NCP's Praful Patel, Congress' Imran Pratapgadi and Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut were also elected to Rajya Sabha. 

  • In Haryana, BJP candidate Krishan Lal Panwar and Independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma, have won the two Rajya Sabha seats.

  • BJP got three seats and Congress got one seat from Karnataka.

  • Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, actor Jaggesh and MLC Lehar Singh Siroya have been elected to Rajya Sabha from BJP. 

  • Jairam Ramesh of Congress won the remaining one seat. 

  • The Congress won three of the four Rajya Sabha seats while one seat was won by the BJP In Rajasthan.

  • Randeep Singh Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik and Pramod Tiwari are the winners from Congress. 

  • Ghanshyam Tiwari won a seat for the BJP in Rajasthan.

  • Important facts about Rajya Sabha

  • Article 80 of the Constitution provides provisions for members of the Rajya Sabha.

  • Members - 245 - including 233 elected members and 12 nominated members

  • Upper House of parliament strength cannot exceed 250

  • Nominated members - nominated by the President of India in the field of art, literature, science and social service

  • Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha - Vice-President

  • Tenure of members - six years

  • Elections to one-third seats are held every two years

  • Process of election - members are elected indirectly by the people, that is, by the MLAs.

  • Voting is by single transferable vote

  • NOTA button is available in the Upper House polls

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -