Centre keen on lifting AFSPA from northeast

Tags: National News

PM Narendra Modi said that AFSPA may be partially withdrawn from Assam, Manipur and Nagaland (from 1st April) due to peaceful conditions since 2014.

  • AFSPA will now be applicable only in 31 districts and partially in 12 districts in four states of Northeast Assam, Nagaland, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh.

  • These four states together have 90 districts.

  • AFSPA was withdrawn completely in Meghalaya in 2018, Tripura in 2015 and Mizoram in the 1980s.

  • What is AFSPA?

  • Armed Forces Special Powers Act, (AFSPA), gives armed forces the power to maintain public order in “disturbed areas.”

  • It came into force decades ago in the context of insurgency in the northeastern states.

  • It provides "special powers" to the army, air force and central paramilitary forces.

  • The Act provides that if "reasonable suspicion exists", the armed forces may also arrest any person without warrant; May enter or search premises without warrant and prohibit possession of firearms.

  • AFSPA is presently in force in areas falling under the jurisdiction of 3 districts of Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and 8 police stations of Arunachal Pradesh bordering Assam.

  • What are the Disturbed Areas?

  • A disturbed area means which is declared by notification under Section 3 of the AFSPA.

  • A region may be disturbed because of differences or disputes between members of different, racial, religious, language or regional groups or castes or communities.

  • The Central Government or the Governor of the State or administrator of the Union Territory have power to declare the whole or part of the State or Union Territory as a disturbed area.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -