Champawat and Pithoragarh districts included in the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme to promote tourism

Tags: Government Schemes

The Ministry of Tourism, Government of India has included two frontier districts of Uttarakhand, Champawat, and Pithoragarh, in the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme.

An Overview of the News

  • The objective of the Swadesh Darshan 2.0 scheme is to promote tourism activities and develop these areas from a tourism point of view, providing basic facilities to visitors.

  • As part of the Swadesh Darshan scheme, Gunji, a place in Pithoragarh district, is set to take up development work in the tourism sector, with an allocated budget of Rs 75 crore.

Swadesh Darshan Scheme:

  • Swadesh Darshan Scheme is a central sector scheme launched by the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India.

  • It aims to develop theme-based tourism circuits while enhancing the potential of India's tourism sector.

  • The scheme is aligned with other national programs such as Swachh Bharat Abhiyan, Skill India, and Make in India to harness the potential of tourism for employment generation and economic growth.

15 theme-based circuits under Swadesh Darshan:

  1. Buddha Circuit: Covers important Buddhist pilgrimage sites in states like Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh.

  2. Coastal Circuit: It aims to promote India as a "Sun, Sea and Surf" destination covering the states along the coastline.

  3. Desert Circuit: Focuses on showcasing the deserts of India including the Thar Desert, Kutch and areas like Ladakh and Himachal Pradesh.

  4. Eco Circuit: Develops eco-friendly and natural destinations in states like Kerala, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Mizoram and Jharkhand.

  5. Heritage Circuit: Preserves and promotes cultural heritage at UNESCO World Heritage sites in many states.

  6. North East Circuit: Promotes tourism development in the North Eastern states.

  7. Himalayan Circuit: Extends to the northern border states including Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and the North-East region.

  8. Sufi Circuit: Celebrates Sufi practices and cultural heritage.

  9. Krishna Circuit: Focuses on religious tourist destinations.

  10. Ramayana Circuit: Centers around places associated with the stories of Lord Rama, mainly in Uttar Pradesh.

  11. Rural Circuit: It aims to revive rural economies and provide an authentic Indian experience to tourists.

  12. Tirthankara Circuit: Jain Tirthankaras and their teachings are commemorated through various pilgrimage sites across the country.

  13. Wildlife Circuit: Focuses on wildlife tourism, especially in states like Assam and Madhya Pradesh.

  14. Tribal Circuit: Provides insight into the tribal traditions of India, covering states like Chhattisgarh, Nagaland and Telangana.

  15. Spiritual Circuit: Attracts spiritual tourists, focusing on states like Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Bihar, Rajasthan and Puducherry, which are known for their spiritual significance.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -