Congress leader Siddaramaiah sworn in as CM of Karnataka and DK Shivakumar as Deputy CM

Tags: Person in news State News

CM-of-Karnataka-and-DK-Shivakumar-as-Deputy-CMCongress leader Siddaramaiah was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka for his second term and Karnataka Congress President DK Shivakumar was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

An Overview of the News

  • The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru, administered by Karnataka Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot.

  • Several Congress MLAs including Dr G Parameshwara, KH Muniyappa, KJ George, MB Patil, Satish Jarkiholi, Priyank Kharge, Ramalinga Reddy and BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan took oath as ministers in the state cabinet.

  • The ceremony was attended by Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi and chief ministers of Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Himachal Pradesh, as well as other political leaders.

  • The Congress government in Karnataka is now officially established.

About Karnataka:

It is a state located in South West India and has coasts of the Arabian Sea.

Formation - 1 November 1956

Governor - Thawar Chand Gehlot

Capital - Bangalore

Rajya Sabha - 12 seats

Lok Sabha - 28 seats

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -