Congress Wins Himachal Prdesh Assembly Election

Tags: Sports News

Congress Wins Himachal Prdesh Assembly Election

The Congress wrested Himachal Pradesh from the BJP by winning 40 seats in the 68-member assembly in the hill state.

Important facts

  • The BJP won 25 seats, while eight ministers of state, including Suresh Bhardwaj, Ram Lal Markanda and Surveen Chowdhary, lost the elections.

  • The Independents won from three constituencies and the Aam Aadmi Party, which had contested from 67 seats, failed to open its account.

  • Independent candidates were successful in winning three seats.

  • The Congress’ vote share was 43.9 per cent and the BJP’s was 43 per cent - a gap of less than one per cent.  

  • Traditionally, Himachal Pradesh has never allowed a government in power for a second consecutive term in the last 37 years. 

  • The practical Himachali voter has always thought that no party should be allowed to get too comfortable on the seat.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search