G20 Second Digital Economy Working Group meeting begins in Hyderabad

Tags: Summits National News

G20 Second Digital Economy Working Group meeting begins in Hyderabad

The G20 Second Digital Economy Working Group meeting began on April 17 in Hyderabad, India, with 140 representatives from member and invited countries and international organisations.

An Overview of the News

  • The three-day meet focused on digital public infrastructure, cyber security and skills.

  • Highlighted the government's objective of bridging the digital divide and providing broadband facilities to all villages in the country by 2025.

  • The meeting stressed the importance of multi-stakeholder participation in creating an inclusive and robust digital economy and the use of digital technologies and the empowerment of vulnerable sections in the digital economy.

  • Indian Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology - Dev Singh Chauhan

  • Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment - A Narayanaswamy

About Telangana

  • It is a state located in south-central India on the high Deccan Plateau.

  • It is the eleventh largest state of India by area.

  • Telangana was carved out of the northwestern part of Andhra Pradesh on 2 June 2014 and became the newly formed state of Telangana with Hyderabad as the capital.

  • Telangana is bordered by Maharashtra to the north, Chhattisgarh to the northeast, Karnataka to the west, and Andhra Pradesh to the east and south.

Formed (by split) - 2 June 2014

Capital - Hyderabad

District - 33

Governor - Tamilisai Soundararajan

Chief Minister - K Chandrasekhar Rao (BRS)

State Legislature - Bicameral

Rajya Sabha - 7 seats

Lok Sabha - 17 seats

High Court - Telangana High Court

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -