G7 countries pledge to phase out imports of Russian oil

Tags: Russia-Ukraine International News

The Group of Seven (G7) countries have pledged to ban or phase out Russian oil imports over the Ukraine dispute.

  • The announcement came as the G7 held its third meeting this year via video conference, which was also attended by Ukraine's President Volodymyr Zelensky.

  • The meeting was called to discuss support for Ukraine, and additional measures against Moscow, including on energy.

  • G7 leaders have personally criticised President Vladimir Putin for his actions in Ukraine.  

  • The leaders celebrated the end of World War II in Europe following the surrender of German forces to the Allied Powers on 9 May 1945.

  • Russia has been accused of violating international rules-based order, in particular the United Nations Charter.

  • All participants were called upon to join the G7's support for the Ukrainian people and refugees and help rebuild Ukraine. 

  • About G7

  • The G7 or the Group of Seven is a group of the seven most advanced economies.

  • The seven countries are Canada, the USA, UK, France, Germany, Japan and Italy.

  • It was formed in 1975.

  • G7 countries meet annually to discuss issues of common interest like global economic governance, international security and energy policy.

  • All the G7 countries and India are a part of G20.

  • The G7 does not have a fixed headquarters.

  • The UK currently chairs the G7 and has invited India along with Australia, the Republic of Korea and South Africa as guest countries for the G7 summit.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -