Government announces “Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards’ for year 2021

Tags: Sports Awards Person in news

“Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards’ for year 2021

The Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has announced the name of the winners of the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards for the year 2021. The Ministry announced the National sports awards winner list on 14 November 2022 but the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award winners' names were not announced.

Winner of the award and category 

Lifetime Achievement Award: Group Captain Bhawani Singh Samyal 

Land Adventure category: Naina Dhakad

Water Adventure category: Shubham Dhananjay Vanmal

No one was chosen for the Air Adventure category. 

They will be conferred the award by President Droupadi Murmu  at a function in Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi  on 30th November, 2022 along with the winners of other National  sports awards .

They will receive statuettes, certificates and award money 15 lakh rupees each. 

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 

It was set up in 1994 in the memory of Tenzing Norgay. He is an Indian of Nepali origin who along with a New Zealand mountaineer Edmund Hillary scaled Mount Everest on 29 May 1953.

The award is given in adventure sports like mountaineering, skydiving, and open water swimming.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search