Government constitute 22nd Law Commission with Justice (retd.) Rituraj Awasthi as the Chairperson

Tags: committee Person in news

Government constitute 22nd Law Commission

The Union ministry of Law and Justice constituted the 22nd Law Commission on 7 November 2022 and appointed former Karnataka High court chief justice Rituraj Awasthi as the chairperson of the Law Commission. 

The five member 22nd Law Commission will have a term of three years.

Justice Rituraj Awasthi was recently in the spotlight as the judge who headed the Karnataka High Court bench which delivered the hijab verdict.

Other members of the Law Commission 

Former Kerala High Court judge Justice KT Sankaran, Prof. Anand Paliwal, Prof. DP Verma, Prof.(Dr) Raka Arya and  M Karunanithi have been appointed members of the Law Commission.

Justice BS Chauhan was the chairman of the 21st Law Commission whose term expired in August 2018.

Law Commission in India 

Law commission is a non-statutory body which is set up by the Union Ministry of Law and Justice for suggesting reform in laws in India.

Its recommendations are not binding on the government.

The provision for the Law commission was made in the Charter act 1833 and the first Law commission was set up in 1834 under the chairmanship of Lord Thomas Babington Macaulay

The Indian Penal Code 1860 is based on the recommendation of the Macaulay commission.

The First Law commission in Independent India was set up in 1955 and M.C Setalvad who was also the first Attorney General of India was the chairman of the Law Commission.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -