India and Fiji sign MoU on visa exemption for holders of diplomatic and official passports

Tags: International Relations International News

memorandum of understanding (MoU)India and Fiji signed a Memorandum of Understanding on visa exemption for diplomatic and official passport holders on 16 February in presence of External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar and Fiji Prime Minister Sitiveni Rabuka.

An overview of the news

  • Under this agreement, holders of diplomatic and official passports will be able to enter, transit and stay in each other's territory without a visa for a period of 90 days.

  • India and Fiji share close and long-standing relations and the two countries also reviewed bilateral relations.

  • India and Fiji have inaugurated the solarisation of the State House in Suva and this is the first of a series that India is supporting in the Pacific Islands.

  • It shows India's commitment towards climate action.

  • The Visa Waiver Agreement will be helpful in encouraging greater travel between the two countries.

Republic of Fiji 

  • It is an archipelago consisting of around 300 islands in the South Pacific Ocean.

  • Capital: Suva 

  • Currency: Fijian Dollar

  • President : Wiliame Katonivere 

  • Prime Minister: Sitiveni Rabuka

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -