Konrad Sangma became the Chief Minister of Meghalaya for the second time

Tags: Person in news State News

National People's Party (NPP) PresidentKonrad K Sangma

National People's Party (NPP) President Konrad K Sangma was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya for the second consecutive term on 7 March 2023. 

An Overview of the news:

  • Governor Fagu Chauhan also administered oath to 12 ministers along with Sangma.

  • 8 MLAs from NPP, 2 from United Democratic Party (UDP), Hill State Peoples Democratic Party (HSPDP) and 1 each from BJP took oath as ministers.

  • On 6 March, 58 newly elected members of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly were administered oath by Speaker Pro Tem Timothy D'Shira.

  • Meghalaya has 60 assembly seats, but polling in the Sohyeong constituency was postponed following the death of UDP candidate HD R Lyngdoh. Shira, MLA from Resubelpara, was administered oath as the Speaker Pro-tem of the Assembly by Governor Fagu Chauhan.

Preston Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar became Deputy Chief Ministers:

  • Governor Fagu Chauhan administered the oath to the 12-member Council of Ministers, including NPP's Preston Tyansong and BJP's Alexander Lalu Hek.

Chief Minister in Indian Constitution:

  • Article 164 of the Constitution provides that the Chief Minister will be appointed by the Governor.

  • The leader of the party with a majority in the assembly elections is appointed as the Chief Minister of the state.

  • A person who is not a member of the State Legislative Assembly can be appointed as the Chief Minister for six months. But he has to take the membership of the state assembly within the time limit, failing which he has to give up the post of chief minister.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -