Narendra Modi to inaugurate first Global Buddhist Summit on 20th April

Tags: Summits National News

Narendra Modi to inaugurate first Global Buddhist Summit on 20th April

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the first Global Buddhist Summit in New Delhi on 20th April. 

An overview of the news

  • The two-day summit will be hosted by the Ministry of Culture in association with its grantee body International Buddhist Confederation.

  • Eminent scholars, Sangha leaders and Dharma practitioners from all over the world will attend the Conference. 

  • The theme of the  Global Buddhist Summit is ‘Responses to Contemporary Challenges: Philosophy to Praxis’.

  • For the first time prominent Buddhist monks from different countries will come to India and participate in the summit.

  • There will be discussions on how to deal with contemporary challenges with the help of Buddhist philosophy and thought.

  • This global summit will mark the importance of India in Buddhism, as Buddhism originated in India.

  • This global summit will also be a medium to enhance cultural and diplomatic relations with other countries.

  • Delegates from around 30 countries will participate in the event and around 171 delegates from foreign countries and 150 delegates from Indian Buddhist organizations will participate.

  • The main approach of the summit is to reflect on the teachings of Shakyamuni Buddha, which have been continuously enriched by the practice of Buddhism over the centuries.

Four Themes of Discussions 

  1. Buddha Dhamma and Peace

  2. Buddha Dhamma: Environmental Crisis, Health and Sustainability

  3. Preservation of Nalanda Buddhist Tradition

  4. Buddha Dhamma Pilgrimage, Living heritage and Buddha Relics: a resilient foundation to India’s centuries-old cultural links to countries in South, Southeast and East Asia.

Buddhism in India

  • It is one of the important religions of South and South-Eastern Asian countries.

  • Buddhism started in India about 2600 years ago.

  • Gautam Buddha, the founder of Buddhism, was born in Lumbini around 563 BC. He belonged to the Shakya dynasty.

  • Buddha is considered to be the eighth incarnation of the ten incarnations of Lord Vishnu.

  • The core teachings of Buddhism are contained in the Four Noble Truths and the core concept of the Eightfold Path.

  • The essence of Buddhism lies in the attainment of enlightenment or nirvana, which can be achieved in this life.

  • The branches of Buddhism are Mahayana (idolatry), Hinayana, Theravada, Vajrayana (Tantric Buddhism), Zen.

UNESCO heritage site related to Buddhism

  • Archaeological site of Nalanda Mahavihara at Nalanda, Bihar

  • Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi, Madhya Pradesh

  • Mahabodhi Vihara Complex in Bodh Gaya, Bihar

  • Ajanta Caves, Aurangabad (Maharashtra)

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -