Nobel Prize in Literature 2023: Awarded to author Jon Olav Fosse

Tags: Awards

Norwegian author John Olav Fosse awarded 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature

An Overview of the News

  • The Swedish Academy has selected John Olav Fosse for the Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 for his innovative literary contributions.

John Olav Fosse: a brief biography

  • He was born on September 29, 1959 in Haugesund, Norway.

  • He is a prolific writer with a diverse body of work including plays, novels, short stories, poetry, children's books and essays.

  • Fosse's first novel, "Raud Svart", was published in 1983.

  • Notable novels such as "Stengd Gitar" and "Skuggar" (2007), as well as the short novel "Morgon og Kveld."

  • Recognition as a finalist for the International Booker Prize in 2022 for "A New Name: Septology VI-VII".

Norwegian Nobel Prize winners in literature

  • John Olav Fosse has become the fourth Norwegian to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature.

  • Previous Norwegian laureates: Björnstjern Björnsson (1903), Knut Hamsson (1920), Sigrid Undset (1928).

About Nobel Prize

  • The Nobel Prize was established in 1900 in honor of Alfred Nobel, and the first Nobel Prize was awarded in 1901.

  • The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 116 times to 120 recipients from 1901 to 2023.

  • The first Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Sully Prudhomme of France in 1901.

  • The Nobel Prize for Literature in 2022 was awarded to France's Anne Ernaux.

  • Rabindranath Tagore is the only Indian to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature, which he achieved in 1913, making him the first Asian to receive the prestigious award.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -