Notification for General Election to the Legislative Assemblies of Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura in 2023

Tags: National News

The National Election Commission has prepared a schedule for holding general elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the three states of North-East India, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura.

An Overview of the news

  • For this, the Commission made a thorough assessment of all relevant aspects, such as climatic conditions, academic calendar, board examinations, major festivals, law and order situation in these states, availability of Central Armed Police Forces, movement of forces and other relevant ground realities, etc. has been taken into account.

  • The Election Commission, after considering all relevant aspects, has decided to recommend the Governor of the three States to issue notification for the General Election under the relevant provisions of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

Tripura Legislative Assembly General Election Schedule

  • Total Assembly Constituencies:- 60

  • Date of poll:- February 16, 2023

  • Date of counting of votes:- March 2, 2023

General Election Schedule to the Legislative Assemblies of Meghalaya and Nagaland

  • Total assembly constituencies:- 60-60 assembly constituencies in both the states

  • Date of Poll:- February 27, 2023

  • Date of counting of votes:- March 2, 2023


  • Capital: Agartala

  • Governor: Satyadev Narayan Arya

  • Chief Minister: Dr. Manik Saha


  • Capital: Shillong

  • Governor: BD Mishra

  • Chief Minister: Conrad Sangma


  • Capital: Kohima

  • Governor: Prof. jagdish mukhi

  • Chief Minister: Neiphiu Rio

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -