Parliament of Vanuatu elects Sato Kilman as the new Prime Minister

Tags: Person in news International News

Vanuatu Parliament elects Sato Kilman as Prime Minister amid political change. 

An Overview of the News

  • The decision came after a court upheld a no-confidence motion against Kilman's predecessor.

  • Former Prime Minister and People's Progressive Party leader Sato Kilman took the position with 27 votes in favor.

  • In the secret ballot, his rival Kalsakau got 23 votes.

  • Kilman, 65, held the post of deputy prime minister in Kalasakau's government before he was ousted in May.

About Vanuatu

  • It is an archipelago consisting of 83 islands, 16 of which are inhabited.

  • Its largest islands include Espiritu Santo, Malacula, Efate, Eromango, Ambrym, Tanna, Pentecost, Apé, Ambe (also known as Aoba), Gaua, Vanua Lava, Maevo, Malo, and Anitium (or Anatome).

  • Its capital is Port Vila, located on the island of Efate.

  • Its other important cities include Luganville on Espiritu Santo and Isangel on Tanna.

  • Vanuatu has three official languages: Bislama, English and French.

  • Bislama is a Creole language spoken by the majority of the population of Vanuatu.

  • The official currency used in Vanuatu is the vatu (VUV), which is pegged to the Australian dollar, resulting in a relatively stable exchange rate.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -