PM Narendra Modi to chair NITI Aayog governing council meeting

Tags: National News

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will chair the 7th Governing Council meeting of NITI Aayog at Rashtrapati Bhawan Cultural Centre, New Delhi on 7 August.

  • PM will pave the way for a new era of collaboration between the Centre and the States.

  • This will be the first physical meeting of the council after July 2019 and its members will include all chief ministers.

  • On the 75th anniversary of independence, the states need to be agile, resilient and self-reliant and move towards "Atmanirbhar Bharat" in the spirit of cooperative federalism.

  • In June this year, a National Conference of Chief Secretaries was held in Dharamsala, which was presided over by the Prime Minister.

The agenda of the meeting

  • The agenda of the meeting includes crop diversification, achieving self-sufficiency in oilseeds, pulses and agro-communities, implementation of the National Education Policy and urban governance.

  • The Governing Council meeting will try to finalize a roadmap and result-oriented action plan on each subject.

  • The meeting will also emphasize the importance of the presidency for India in a federal system and the role of states in highlighting India's progress on the G-20 platform.

Governing Council of NITI Aayog

  • This includes the Chief Ministers of all the states and the Lieutenant Governors of the Union Territories.

  • It also includes ex-officio members of NITI Aayog, Vice-Chairman and whole-time members of NITI Aayog.

  • It presents a platform to discuss inter-sectoral, inter-departmental and federal issues.

About NITI Aayog

  • It is the premier policy think tank of the Government of India, it provides directional and policy inputs.

  • It designs strategic and long-term policies.

  • It also provides relevant technical advice to the Centre, States, and Union Territories.

  • The Governing Council of NITI Aayog is chaired by the Prime Minister and includes the Chief Ministers of all the States and Union Territories and the Lieutenant Governors of other Union Territories. 

  • It was constituted on January 1, 2015.

  • NITI stands for National Institution for Transforming India.

  • The Government of India constituted the NITI Aayog to replace the Planning Commission, which was set up in 1950.

  • This step was taken to better meet the needs and aspirations of the people.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -