Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK)

Tags: Government Schemes National News

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram

Minority Affairs Minister Smriti Zubin Irani in a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha on 15 December said that the Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK) is being implemented by the Ministry of Minority Affairs with the objective of infrastructure development.

About Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK)

  • It is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS).

  • It aims to develop infrastructure projects in identified areas for socio-economic development.

  • Under this the priority areas are education, health, skill development, women centric projects etc.

  • It has been implemented in 1300 identified Minority Concentration Areas (MCAs) of the country.

  • Projects under PMJVK are implemented and managed by the concerned State/ UT Government.

  • In the North Eastern Region (NER), the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura come under PMJVK.
  • The scheme is now implemented in all Districts of the country including all the Aspirational Districts.

Beneficiaries under PMJVK

  • Communities notified as minority communities under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 will be taken as minority communities.

  • Currently, 6 Minorities communities have been notified as Minority Communities. These are - Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -