Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award 2023

Tags: Awards

President Draupadi Murmu honored 27 overseas Indians with the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award on 10 January 2023 at the concluding session of the 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention.

An Overview of the news

  • It is the highest award given to overseas Indians for their distinguished contributions and achievements abroad.

  • Chief among the recipients of the award were Guyana President Mohamed Irfan Ali and Suriname President Chandrika Prasad Santokhi. In this context, some of the major award recipients, their country and related field have been mentioned as follows:

Awardee             Country         Region

Archana Sharma     Switzerland     Science and Technology

Reena Pushkarna     Israel         Business and Social Welfare

Vaikuntham Iyer         Canada         Education, Health, Clean Tech.

Shivakumar Nadesan     Sri Lanka         Community Welfare

Jagdish Chennupati     Australia         Science, Technology, Education

Sanjeev Mehta         Bhutan         Education

Dilip Lundo         Brazil         Art-Culture-Education

Alexander Maliakale     Brunei         Medicine

Joginder Singh Nijjar     Croatia         Art & Culture

Ramji Prasad         Denmark         IT

Kannan Ambalam     Ethiopia         Community Welfare

Selection of Honor Recipients

  • The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman recipients are selected by a committee headed by the Vice President. In which the External Affairs Minister (S Jaishankar) is its Vice-Chairman. While other members of the committee come from different places.

  • According to the Ministry of External Affairs, the committee considers the nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award and unanimously the winners are selected.

  • The awardees are expatriates who have made a mark abroad through their work in different fields.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -