Praveen Kumar Srivastava appointed Interim Central Vigilance Commissioner

Tags: Person in news

Praveen Kumar Srivastava appointed Interim Central Vigilance Commissioner

The government of India has appointed the vigilance commissioner Praveen Kumar Srivastava as the acting Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) on 28 December 2022.

The incumbent CVC chief Suresh N Patel completed his term on 24 December 2022.

Srivastava is a 1988-batch (retired) Indian Administrative Service officer of the Assam-Meghalaya cadre. He retired on 31 January 2022.

The Vigilance Commission is headed by a CVC and can have a maximum of two other Vigilance Commissioners.

Besides Srivastava, former Intelligence Bureau (IB) chief Arvind Kumar is the other Vigilance Commissioner.

The tenure of a CVC and vigilance commissioner is of four years or till the incumbent attains the age of 65 years. 

Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC)

The Central Vigilance Commission was set up by the Government in February, 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by Shri K. Santhanam, to advise and guide Central Government agencies in the field of vigilance.

It was made a statutory body by an ordinance issued by the President in 1998 and later the ordinance was replaced by the Central Vigilance Commission Act 2003.

Government of India has authorized the Central Vigilance Commission as the "Designated Agency" to receive written complaints for disclosure on any allegation of corruption or misuse of office and recommend appropriate action.

It consists of a Chairman and two vigilance commissioners. 

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search