President appoints Justice D Y Chandrachud as the 50th Chief Justice of India

Tags: National Person in news

In a tweet on 17 October 2022, the Union Minister for Law and Justice Kiren Rijiju said that the President Droupadi Murmu has appointed Supreme Court Judge. Justice D Y Chandrachud as the 50th Chief Justice of India (CJI) with effect from 9th November 2022. 

The incumbent Chief Justice Uday Umesh Lalit, who took charge as CJI on 27 August 2022, will retire on November 8 this year. 

Justice Chandrachud, who is set to be the 50th Chief Justice of India, would have a tenure of two years. He is due to retire on November 10, 2024.

Under article 124 clause 2 of the Indian constitution the President of India has the power to appoint the Chief Justice of India. 

Supreme Court and its Chief Justice 

The Supreme Court of India came into existence on 26 January 1950. The Federal Court which was set up under the Government of India act 1935 was converted into the Supreme Court of India.

Its first sitting was held on 28 January 1950.

The first Chief Justice of India was Harilal J.Kania.

The 16th Chief Justice of India, Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud, is the longest-serving Chief Justice. He was Chief Justice of India for over 7 years (February 1978 – July 1985).

The 22nd Chief Justice of India, Kamal Narain Singh, is the shortest-serving Chief Justice. He was the Chief Justice of India for 17 days (25 November 1991 – 12 December 1991).

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -