President Droupadi Murmu confers Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships and Awards

Tags: Awards

President Droupadi Murmu on 23 February conferred the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships and Awards for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021 at a function in New Delhi. 

An overview of the news

  • Eight eminent personalities in the field of performing arts were given the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship, while 128 artistes from the fields of music, dance, theatre, traditional, folk and puppetry were honoured with the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards.

  • The Akademi’s Fellowship (Akademi Ratna) carries of Rs 3,00,000 and Akademi Awards carry of Rs 1,00,000. 

  • The award also carries a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

  • The Fellows and awardees not only represent India as a whole, but also the diverse forms of creative expression and our heritage.

Sangeet Natak Akademi

  • It was created in 1952 by a resolution of the (then) Ministry of Education, Government of India, with Dr. PV Rajamannar as its first chairman.

  • It was set up for the preservation and promotion of the vast intangible heritage of India’s diverse culture expressed in forms of music, dance and drama. 

  • The chairman of the Academy is appointed by the President of India for a term of five years.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -