Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS) in 13 railway stations through video link

Tags: National News

On 6 July 2023, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS) through a video link from Delhi, which aims to revitalise 1,309 railway stations across India and turn them into world-class travel hubs.

An Overview of the News

  • ABSS will start its rejuvenation work at 508 railway stations in different states with an investment of ₹25,000 crore. In the state, 13 railway stations will be modernised with an investment of ₹303 crore.

List of Stations under ABSS in the State:

  • ABSS will focus on 13 railway stations in a specific state.

  • These selected stations will receive a modern makeover and substantial investment as part of ABSS.

  • The 13 railway stations selected for ABSS in the state are Ballari, Ghataprabha, Gokak Road, Bidar, Alnavar, Gadag, Koppal, Harihar, Arsikere, Mangaluru Junction, Wadi, Kalaburagi Junction (Gulbarga), and Shahabad.

Features of Revamped Stations:

  • The revamped railway stations will provide world class amenities.

  • Key features include rooftop plaza, shopping zone, food court, children's play area and separate entry and exit gates.

  • Multi-level parking, lifts and escalators, executive lounge, waiting area and travelators will also be included.

  • Facilities to meet the needs of the physically challenged shall be provided.

  • The integration of these facilities is expected to enhance the passenger experience and make the stations iconic landmarks in their respective cities.

  • Additionally, the stations will become hubs of socio-economic activities in their areas due to better multimodal connectivity.

Railway Minister of India - Ashwini Vaishnav

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -