Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' appointed as the Prime Minister of Nepal for the third time

Tags: Person in news International News

Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' appointed as the Prime Minister of Nepal for the third time

President Bidya Devi Bhandari of Nepal has appointed Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' as the new prime minister of Nepal on 25 December 2022. Prachand will become the prime minister for the third time. 

In the recently held parliamentary election no party got any clear majority. Prachand’s Maoist Center Party won 32 seats in Nepal's 275-member House of Representatives. 

He has formed a coalition government with the support of the Communist Unified Marxist-Leninist (UML) party, Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP), Rastriya Prajatantra Party and other smaller parties.  Prachanda has the support of 165 lawmakers in the 275-member House of Representatives.

According to the deal with the UML party he will remain prime minister for the first half of the five-year term and later will be replaced by a candidate from the UML party. 

Pushpa Kamal Dahal will replace Sher Bahadur Deuba of the Nepali Congress party as the Prime Minister.

Nepal’s Parliament 

The Federal Parliament of Nepal is called Sanghiya Sansad.  It is a bicameral house. 

The Upper house is called the National Assembly or Rastriya Sabha. It consists of 59 members. It is a permanent body and the term of a member of the house is six years. 

The lower house is called the House of Representative or Pratinidhi Sabha. It consists of 275 members with a term of five years. 

Currency of Nepal: Nepalese Rupees

Capital: Kathmandu 

President: Vidya Devi Bhandari

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -