Sansad Ratna award, 2023

Tags: Awards

 names for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2023 were released on 21 February.

An overview of the news

  • A total of thirteen Members of Parliament and two Parliamentary Committees have been honoured with this award.

  • The Jury Committee  of eminent Parliamentarians and civil society, chaired by Arjun Ram Meghwal (State Minister of Parliamentary Affairs) and Co-Chaired by T S Krishnamurthy (Former Chief Election Commissioner of India) has nominated  eight  MPs from Lok Sabha and five from Rajya Sabha for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2023. 

  • Prominent CPI-M leader T K Rangarajan nominated for the lifetime achievement award.

  • These nominations are based on cumulative performance in questions, private members' bills and members' debates from the beginning of the 17th Lok Sabha till the end of the Winter Session 2022.

Sansad Ratna Awards 2023 from Lok Sabha

  1. Bidyut Baran Mahato (BJP, Jharkhand), 

  2. Dr. Sukanta Majumdar (BJP, West Bengal), 

  3. Kuldeep Rai Sharma (INC, Andaman Nicobar Islands), 

  4. Dr Heena Vijayakumar Gavit (BJP, Maharashtra), 

  5. Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury (INC, West Bengal), 

  6. Gopal Chinayya Shetty (BJP, Maharashtra), 

  7. Sudhir Gupta (BJP, Madhya Pradesh) and

  8. Dr. Amol Ramsing Kolhe (NCP, Maharashtra)

Sansad Ratna Awards 2023 from Rajya Sabha

  • Dr. John Brittas (CPI-M, Kerala), 

  • Dr. Manoj Kumar Jha (RJD, Bihar), 

  • Smt Fauzia Tahseen Ahmed Khan (NCP, Maharashtra)  Vishambhar Prasad Nishad (Samajwadi Party, UP) and

  • Smt Chhaya Verma (INC, Chhattisgarh)

Two Parliamentary Committees of Lok Sabha nominated for Sansad Ratna Award 2023

  1. Lok Sabha's Parliamentary Committee on Finance, chaired by Jayant Sinha 

  2. Rajya Sabha's Standing Committee on Tourism, Transport, and Culture, chaired by Vijay Sai Reddy

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Lifetime Achievement Award - T K Rangarajan, (Former Rajya Sabha MP for two terms  and a Senior CPIM Leader).

About Sansad Ratna Award

  • Sansad Ratna Awards were instituted on the suggestion of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam to honour top performing Parliamentarians.

  • He himself inaugurated the first edition of the award ceremony in 2010 in Chennai.

  • So far, 90 top performing parliamentarians have been honoured and all of them have received the award individually.

  • The 13th edition of the award ceremony will be held on 25 March 2023 in New Delhi.

  • K. Srinivasan is the Founder Chairman of the Sansad Ratna Award Committee and Ms. Priyadarshini Rahul is the Chairman.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -