Satwiksairaj and Chirag Shetty won men's doubles at the Badminton Asia Championships gold medal

Tags: Sports Sports News

On 30 April, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty created history by becoming the first Indian men's doubles pair to win a gold medal at the Badminton Asia Championships.

An Overview of the News

  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty defeated Malaysian pair of Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yee in a three-game match.

  • This historic achievement is only the second gold medal India has won at theBadminton Asia Championships, the first gold medal being won by Dinesh Khanna in 1965 in the men's singles category.

  • He won the Commonwealth Games gold medal in 2022 and was part of the historic Thomas Cup winning team.

Badminton Association of India (BAI):

  • It serves as the governing body for badminton in India.

  • BAI is registered as an association under the Societies Act.

  • Since 1936, BAI has been responsible for organising and hosting national level badminton tournaments in India.

Establishment -1934

Headquarters - New Delhi

President -Himanta Biswa Sarma

Badminton Asia Championship:

  • It is an annual badminton tournament organised by the governing body Badminton Asia

  • The tournament has been held since 1962 and has been an annual event since 1991.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -