Saurashtra beat Bengal by 9 wickets to bag second Ranji Trophy title

Tags: Sports Sports News

Saurashtra won the Ranji Trophy 2022-23 title by defeating Bengal by 9 wickets in the final match played on February 19, thanks to the superb bowling of team captain and left arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat.

An overview of the news

  • Saurashtra won their second Ranji Trophy title at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Saurashtra won the Ranji Trophy title for the first time in 2019-20.

  • Saurashtra needed 14 runs to win, which they achieved at the loss of 1 wicket in 2.4 overs.

  • This is the second title win of the Saurashtra team in the last three seasons.

  • Jaydev Unadkat and Chetan Sakariya, who were the heroes of Saurashtra's victory, together broke the back of Bengal's batting, and the team could only manage 241 runs in the second innings.

  • Unadkat took 9 wickets, while Chetan Sakaria took 6 wickets.

  • Saurashtra won the toss in the match and decided to bowl first.

  • Bengal could score only 174 runs in the first innings while batting.

  • Unadkat took three wickets while Chetan Sakaria also took three wickets. Chirag Jani and DA Jadeja got two wickets each.

  • Saurashtra then took a huge lead over Bengal by scoring 404 runs in the first innings.

  • The second innings was also poor for Bengal and the team could only manage 241 runs. In such a situation, he could get a slight lead of 11 runs over Saurashtra.

  • Saurashtra captain Unadkat was adjudged man of the match for his nine-wicket haul in the match, while teammate Arpit Vasavada was adjudged player of the Ranji season.

Brief Scores

  • Bengal - 174 and 241 in 70.4 overs (Manoj Tiwary 68, Anustup Majumdar 61; Jaydev Unadkat 6/85, Chetan Sakariya 3/76).

  • Saurashtra - 404 and 14/1 in 2.4 overs.

Ranji Trophy Tournament

  • The Ranji Trophy tournament has been played since 1934.

  • The first match was played between Madras and Mysore at the Chepauk Ground from 4 November 1934.

  • Mumbai has won this tournament 41 times.

  • For the first time in 86 years, the 2020/21 season Ranji Trophy had to be cancelled due to Corona.

  • Ranji Trophy is named after Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

  • Number of teams- 37

  • Most runs - Wasim Jaffer (10665)

  • Most wickets - Rajinder Goyal (640)

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -