The Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2021-22 jointly won by Sudeep Sen and Shobhana Kumar

Tags: Awards

The Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2021-22

The Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2021-22 has been jointly won by Sudeep Sen for his genre and formbender Anthropocene : Climate Change, Contagion, Consolation (Pippa Rann Books & Media, 2021) and Shobhana Kumar for her haibun collection 'A Sky Full of Bucket Lists' (Red River, 2021).

Important facts

  • The Tagore Award for Social Achievement was given to Sanjay K. Roy, the producer of the Jaipur Literature Festival.

  • The winners were presented with $10,000 and a statue of Rabindranath Tagore at the India International Center on 26 December.

  • Sudip Sen won the award for his remarkable work in 'Anthropocene: Climate Change, Contagion, Consolation', a collection of poetry, prose, creative non-fiction and photography.

  • His poems on the pandemic point to the healing and sensitivity that still exist as human qualities.

  • Shobhana Kumar won the Tagore Prize for her outstanding work in A Sky Full of Bucket Lists, a collection of poems in the Japanese haibun style.

  • Haibun is a story or narration based on experience in which one's own sensibilities are threaded.

  • It is a contemporary literary form born in Japan combining prose and haiku.

About Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize

  • The Rabindranath Tagore Literary Award was instituted in 2018 to annually recognize literary and social achievements.

  • In 2020, Raj Kamal Jha, editor-in-chief, The Indian Express, won the award for The City and the Sea (2019, Penguin Books), and in 2019, it was awarded posthumously to Kabir for One Hundred Poems of Kabir.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -