Union Home Minister released the book 'Dr APJ Abdul Kalam: Memories Never Die' in Rameshwaram

Tags: Books and Authors

Union Home Minister and Cooperation Minister Amit Shah unveiled a book titled 'Dr APJ Abdul Kalam: Memories Never Die' in Rameshwaram.

An Overview of the News

  • During his visit to Rameswaram, the Union Home Minister paid his respects at important places including Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam House, Mission of Life Gallery Museum and Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam National Memorial.

  • The book, 'Dr APJ Abdul Kalam: Memories Never Die,' is an English translation of the Tamil book 'Ninaivirukkum Maranamillai', written by Dr. Nazeema Marakaiyar, niece of APJ Abdul Kalam, and Dr. YS Rajan, a distinguished ISRO scientist and a close confidant of Kalam .

  • This book provides an in-depth and truthful account of Dr. Kalam's life from childhood to his last days, presenting a holistic view.

Dr. A.P.J. about abdul kalam

  • Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam was born on October 15, 1931 in Rameshwaram, Tamil Nadu.

  • He served as the 11th President of India from the year 2002 to the year 2007.

  • Dr. Kalam joined the 'Indian Space Research Organization' in the year 1962 and there he got the credit of making India's first indigenous satellite (SLV-lll) missile as the project director.

  • Abdul Kalam is considered the father of India's missile program.

  • The United Nations (UN) designated 15 October as World Students' Day in the year 2010, marking Dr. Kalam's birthday.

  • Dr. Kalam was awarded honorary doctorates by 48 universities and institutions in India and abroad.

  • He also served as the Chief Scientific Adviser to the Prime Minister from 1992 to 1999.

  • Dr. Kalam was awarded the Padma Bhushan in the year 1981, the Padma Vibhushan in the year 1990 and the 'Bharat Ratna' in the year 1997.

  • He died of cardiac arrest on 27 July 2015 during a program at the Indian Institute of Management Shillong.

Dr. Abdul Kalam also wrote many books in which the main one is --

  • India 2020: A Vision for the New Millennium (1998)

  • Wings of Fire: And Autobiography (1999)

  • Ignited Minds: Unlistening to the Power Within India (1999)

  • Mission India

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -