US recognizes McMahon Line as international border

Tags: International News

The United States has recognized the McMahon Line as the international boundary between Arunachal Pradesh and China in a recently passed bipartisan resolution, calling it an "integral part of India".

An overview of the news

  • The resolution rejected Beijing’s claim that the northeastern state Arunachal Pradesh falls under Chinese territory.

  • In addition to recognizing the McMahon Line, the resolution also condemned Chinese provocations in the region, including the use of military force by China to change the status quo at the Line of Actual Control.

  • The resolution also condemned the construction of villages in disputed areas, the publication of maps of cities in Arunachal Pradesh, and the expansion of Beijing's territorial claims on Bhutan.

  • The resolution, titled 'Reaffirmation of Arunachal Pradesh as Indian territory and condemnation of China's provocative activities in South Asia', came after a major clash between the Indian and Chinese forces in Arunachal's Tawang in December last year.

What is the McMahon Line?

  • India and China share a 3,500 km long border which is disputed.

  • The line that delineates the boundary between the two countries is called the McMahon Line.

  • The border of India and China can be divided into three parts. Western Zone, Central Zone and Eastern Zone.

  • The line separating India and China is the McMahon Line although China considers the McMahon Line illegal.

  • The McMahon Line was drawn during the Simla Convention of 1914, officially described as a convention between Great Britain, China and Tibet.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -