68th National Film Awards : Soorarai Pottru wins Best Film award

Tags: Awards National News

Tamil movie “Soorarai Pottru” got national awards for the Best Feature Film, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Background Score and the Best Screenplay at the 68th National Film Awards-2020 announced on 22 July.

Important facts

  • The movie also won the prize of Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment.

  • The film is inspired by the real-life story of GR Gopinath, the founder of India's first low-cost airline.

  • The story of this film focuses on the dream of providing low cost air travel to common people.

  • Soorarai Pottru is produced by Suriya and Guneet Monga under their 2D Entertainment and Sikhya Entertainment banners.

  • Bollywood actor Ajay Devgn shared the best actor title with Suriya for his performance in the period drama 'Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior'.

  • This year, the winners were selected from 305 feature films in 30 languages and 148 non-feature films in 28 languages that were received as entries.

  • The winners were selected by a 10-member jury headed by Hindi filmmaker Vipul Shah.

  • The awards were announced by jury member Dharam Gulati.

All the notable awards are as follows-

  • Best Feature Film - 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Actor (shared) - Suriya for 'Soorarai Pottru' Ajay Devgn for 'Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior'

  • Best Actress - Aparna Balamurali for 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Popular Film - Providing Wholesome Entertainment 'Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior'

  • Best Director (posthumous award) - KR Sachidanandan, better known as Sachy, for 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Supporting Actor Award - Biju Menon for 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Supporting Actress - Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli for 'Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum' (Tamil)

  • Best Screenplay - Shalini Usha Nair and Sudha Kongara for 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Music Direction (Background Score) - GV Prakash Kumar for 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Action Direction (Stunt Choreography) - 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Playback Female Singer - Nanchamma for 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Playback Singer Male - Rahul Deshpande for 'Mi Vasantrao' (Marathi)

  • Best Editing - Sreekar Prasad for 'Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum'

  • Best Hindi Film - 'Toolsidas Junior'

  • Best Music Direction (Songs) - Thaman S for 'Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo' (Telugu)

  • Best Lyrics - Manoj Muntashir for 'Saina' (Hindi)

  • Best Make-up Artist - TV Rambabu for 'Natyam' (Telugu)

  • Best Choreography - Sandhya Raju for 'Natyam'

  • Indira Gandhi Award - Best Debut Film of a Director Madonne Ashwin for 'Mandela' (Tamil)

  • Best Dialogue Writer - Madonne Ashwin for 'Mandela'

  • Best Cinematography - Supratim Bhol for 'Avijatrik' (Bengali)

  • Most Film-Friendly State - Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh 

  • Best Book on Cinema - Kishwar Desai for 'The Longest Kiss'

About National Film Awards

  • It was established in 1954.

  • This Awards is one of the most prestigious and much looked-forward-to events in the country.

  • Awards are given in three categories - Feature, Non-Features and Best Writing on Cinema.

  • The winners of the awards are decided by a jury consisting of eminent persons in the fields of cinema, other allied arts and humanities.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -