Current Affairs search results for: "Sujoy Lal Thaosen"
By admin: Dec. 31, 2022

1. CRPF Chief Sujoy Lal Thaosen takes over the additional charge of Director General of the Border Security Force

Tags: Person in news

Sujoy Lal Thaosen the additional charge as Director General Border Security Force (BSF).

The Government of India has given the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) Director General Sujoy Lal Thaosen the additional charge as Director General Border Security Force (BSF). The incumbent BSF Director General Pankaj Kumar Singh will retire on 31 December 2022.

Sujoy Lal Thaosen is a 1988 batch officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre and he will hold the ‘additional charge’ of BSF DG till the appointment of a regular DG of BSF or until further orders.

Pankaj Kumar Singh's BSF appointment last year had created a history where for the first time a son and father held the top post of a paramilitary force in the country. His father and retired IPS officer of the 1959-batch, Prakash Singh, also headed the BSF as its DG from June, 1993 to January, 1994.

Border Security Force 

The Border Security Force was raised on 1 December 1965 after the India-Pakistan war of 1965. It is a border force which is deployed along the International border with Bangladesh and Pakistan.

BSF is also known as the nation’s ’first line of defence'.

It is the world’s largest border force in the world.

It is one of the 7 Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) which comes under the Union Ministry of Home Affairs. The other CAPF are Assam Rifles, Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Indo Tibetan Border Force (ITBP), National Security Guard (NSG) and Sashastra Seema BAL (SSB).

The BSF is the only force in the country to have the Camel Contingents and the Camel Mounted Band.

It is the only force in the world which has a female camel riding squad. 

It is the only CAPF to have a full-fledged Water Wing, Air Wing and even an Artillery Regiment of its own.

  • Motto of BSF : Duty Unto Death,
  • Headquarters: New Delhi,
  • First Director General : K F Rustamji

By admin: Nov. 2, 2022

2. CRPF for the first time appoints Women officer to the post of Inspector General

Tags: Person in news

CRPF Women officer

For the first time, India’s largest paramilitary force Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) has promoted two women officers to the rank of Inspector General .An IG is the head of a sector in CRPF.

Annie Abraham has been appointed as the IG of Rapid Action Force (RAF), while Seema Dhundia has been posted as IG of the Bihar Sector. Both the officers were inducted in CRPF in 1987.

Both the officers have also commanded an all-women Indian police contingent at the United Nations. They have also been decorated with the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service, Police Medal for Meritorious Service and the 'Ati Utkrisht Sewa Padak' during their service.

The Rapid Action Force (RAF) is a specialised anti-riot force of the CRPF.  It is deployed to assist state police forces for heavy crowd management and also during VIP visits.

The Bihar Sector of CRPF commands about four battalions that are deployed for anti-Naxal operations and other law and order duties, apart from some RAF units and CoBRA (Commando Battalion for Resolute Action) units that specialises in jungle warfare.

CRPF is the largest Central Armed Police Force under the Union Home Ministry. It was set up in 1939 as Crown Representative Police. 

The CRPF was the first Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) to induct women in combat in 1986. It has six such battalions at present with women constables filling more than 6,000 posts.

Director General of CRPF: Sujoy Lal Thaosen 

By admin: Oct. 2, 2022

3. Central government appoints Sujoy Lal Thaosen as head of CRPF and Anish Dayal Singh as ITBP head

Tags: National Person in news

The Union Ministry of Personnel  on 1 October 2022 ,announced the appointment of Senior Indian Police Service (IPS) officers Sujoy Lal Thaosen and Anish Dayal Singh as the new Director Generals of the CRPF and ITBP respectively. The notification was issued by the ministry after the Cabinet Committee on Appointment headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved their names.

Sujoy Lal Thaosen  is a 1988 batch officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre and is currently working as the Director General of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) and is holding the additional charge of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police.

Anish Dayal Singh is a 1988-batch officer of Manipur cadre and is currently serving as a special director in the Intelligence Bureau.

 Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF)

There are seven Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) in India. They are under the Union Ministry of Home Affairs. These are ; 

  • Assam Rifles 
  • Border Security Forces(BSF)
  • Central Industrial Security Force(CISF)
  • Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
  • Indo Tibetan Border Force (ITBP)
  • National Security Guard(NSG)
  • Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB)

Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)

It is the largest CAPF in India. It was set up as Crown Representative Police on 27 July 1939. It was renamed as the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) on 28 December 1949.

Moto: Service and Loyalty

Indo -Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) 

It was set up in 1962 after the Indo-China war of 1962. It is normally deployed in the Himalayan Mountains along the China border.

Motto: Valour – Steadfastness and Commitment

By admin: June 2, 2022

4. IPS Sujoy Lal Thaosen Takes Charge as New SSB DG

Tags: Person in news

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, appointed Indian Police Service (IPS) officer Sujay Lal Thosen as the new Director General of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).

  • Thosen is a 1988 batch Madhya Pradesh cadre officer.

  • Prior to this appointment, Thosen was serving as the Special Director General of the Border Security Force.

  • Thosen has taken over as the 21st Director General of Sashastra Seema Bal.

  • He has been appointed in place of ITBP Director General Sanjay Arora.

  • About Sashastra Seema Bal 

  • Sashastra Seema Bal was established on 20 December 1963 after the Sino-Indian War.

  • The Sashastra Seema Bal guards the country's borders with Nepal (1,751 km) and Bhutan (699 km).

  • On 13 April 2014, the Union Home Ministry for the first time approved the induction of young women into the Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) as Combat Officers.

  • Headquarters- New Delhi