A Belarussian political dissident and civil rights organisation of Ukraine and Russia wins Nobel Peace Prize 2022

Tags: Awards Person in news

Jailed Belarusian political dissident  Ales Byalyatski, banned Russian civil rights  organisation Memorial and Ukrainian group Center for Civil Liberties were named the winners of the Nobel Peace Prize 2022 announced on 7 October 2022. 

The Norwegian Nobel Committee in a statement said that it “wishes to honour three outstanding champions of human rights, democracy and peaceful co-existence in the neighbour countries Belarus, Russia and Ukraine."

The Nobel Prize in Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature and Economics are announced by the Swedish Nobel Committee while the Peace prize is announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

The award is seen as a return to the cold war era when the critic and dissident of the Soviet Union were given Nobel Prize by Norwegian committee so as to embarrass the Soviet Union.  Russia which is the successor state of the Soviet Union is currently in a conflict with Ukraine and the Belorussian President Alexander Lukashenko is a close ally of Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Award Winners 2022

Ales Byalyatski, is a human right activist ,an opponent of Lukashenko and he was detained last year. by the government.

Memorial is a Russian organisation which works for human rights and civil liberties. It was a fierce critic of Vladimir Putin and it has been banned in Russia.

Center for Civil Liberties is an independent Ukrainian human rights organisation, which is also focused on fighting corruption.

2021 Nobel Peace prize winners  

In 2021 the Nobel Peace prize was given to Maria Ressa of Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia.

India’s who have won the Nobel Peace Prize

  • Mother Teresa (original name; Mary Teresa Bojaxhiu) won the peace prize in 1979.
  • Kailash Satyarthi won the prize with Malala Yousafzai of Pakistan in 2014.

The Nobel Peace Prize which is worth 10 million Swedish crowns, or about $900,000, will be presented in Oslo, Norway on 10 December. 10 December is the death anniversary of the Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, who founded the awards in his 1895 will.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz