Alain Aspect, John Clauser, Anton Zeilinger chosen for the Nobel Prize for Physics 2022

Tags: Awards International News

The Royal Swedish Academy of Science has announced the winners of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics on 4 October 2022.  Three scientists; Alain Aspect of France, John Clauser of USA and Anton Zeilinger of Austria were honoured for their work in Quantum physics.

According to the Academy the awards were given for their "experiments with entangled photons, and pioneering quantum information science",

Quantum physics is a field of science that aims to study matter and energy at the most fundamental level. Each of the three winners conducted ground breaking experiments using entangled quantum states, where two particles behave like a single unit even when they are separated.

The Academy said that as a result of their work, development was underway to use the "special properties of individual particle systems to construct quantum computers, improve measurements, build quantum networks and establish secure quantum encrypted communication."

On 3 October 2022, Svante Paabo of Sweden was announced the winner of the Nobel Prize for Medicine.

The Nobel Prize will be conferred on 10 December 2022 in Stockholm, Sweden.

List of Nobel Prize winners from India - 

  • Rabindranath Tagore (1913) - Literature. First Asian to get a Nobel Prize.
  • CV Raman (1930) - Physics
  • Har Gobind Khurana (1968) - Medicine. He was an Indian born American citizen.
  • Mother Teresa (1979) - Peace
  • Subhramanyan Chandrashekhar (1983) - Physics. He was an Indian born American citizen.
  • Amartya Sen (1998) - Economics. 
  • Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (2009) - Chemistry. He is an Indian born British and American citizen.
  • Kailash Satyarthi (2014) - Peace
  • Abhijit Banerjee (2019) - Economics. He is an Indian born American citizen. 

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz