Axelsen and Yamaguchi win BWF World Tour Finals

Tags: Sports Sports News

Axelsen and Yamaguchi win BWF World Tour Finals

Men's badminton world number one Viktor Axelsen won the men's singles title after defeating Indonesian ace Anthony Ginting at the season-ending World Tour Finals in Bangkok on 11 December.

The BWF moved its $1.5 million flagship event to the Thai capital's Nimibutra Arena after the tournament's original host China pulled out of the tournament due to Covid restrictions.

Men's Singles Final

  • Defending champion Axelsen appeared fresh, relaxed, energetic and in control as he cruised to a 21-13 win in the first game.

  • His confidence had been shakey following a surprise loss to India's H S Prannoy on 9 December -- only his third defeat this year -- but he appeared to be a different player on 11 December.

Women's Singles Final

  • Defending world champion Akane Yamaguchi of Japan won the women's singles title by defeating Tai Tzu Ying of Taiwan.

  • In the women's singles final, Yamaguchi won in straight games 21–18, 22–20 in a close match.

  • With that, Yamaguchi became the first women’s singles player since Ye Zhaoying in 1997 to claim the All England Open, World Championships and end-of-season finals all in the same year, as per the Badminton World Federation.

About BWF World Tour

  • The BWF World Tour is a Grade 2 badminton tournament series, sanctioned by Badminton World Federation (BWF). 

  • It is a competition open to the top world ranked players in singles (men's and women's) and doubles (men's, women's and mixed). 

  • The competition was announced on 19 March 2017 and came into effect starting from 2018.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -